Search

Kerama Islands - Tokashiki

Search this Thread

Old Feb 10th, 2024, 06:45 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Kerama Islands - Tokashiki

Hi, Fodorites.

Just wanted to post a bit of informational signage for my mother's home island of Tokashiki for any English speakers interested in taking the ferry from Tomari port. I realize it's not that easy to find information, but for those who love (intense) sun and beaches and snorkeling/diving, Aharen and Tokashiku beaches may be on their radar. Note: This is from June 2023, though I expect the bus routes are still in effect and the rental car company shown in the signage is likely still in business--though may not have English speakers.

I can try to answer questions, but I'm no expert. I've visited many times for family who live in Tokashiki village, and the tourism infrastructure is growing rapidly, but was not really in place in the years I was visiting often. Even the new ferries are great. In the past, the ferry guaranteed sea-sickness, with everyone riding to the island sitting cross-legged in a carpeted room.

Hope this signage is helpful and puts some travelers minds at ease.

June 2023 Bus schedule. This sign is posted in the Information Center right at Tokashiki Port, so any updated times should be posted there. Restrooms and waiting area, and vending machines here while you wait for bus/ferry.

View of Cape Aharen. This is NOT Aharen Beach, but a picnic/observation spot.

Tokashiki map

Cape Aharen. (Not Aharen Beach.)

Informational guidebook information posted on the express ferry to the island.

Walking routes, though I can't believe ANYONE walks in anything but the winter months. It is mountainous, winding roads, and only the most serious hikers would do this, IMO. Do not attempt in heat and sun.

Detail of some sites of architectural/historic interest near Tokashiki port.

A rental car sign posted in the Tokashiki information center.

Tokashiki map
Old Feb 10th, 2024, 06:52 AM